R&D Capability From
North America

Create “absolute competitive advantage” with First-class Core Technology

One would possess no core competitiveness without possessing core technology – this is the greatest insight attained by Kaishan during its 60 years of history and more than 40 years of experience in air compressor manufacturing. As such, Kaishan devotes, annually, significant amount of research and development funds for technological innovation, talent procurement and cultivation. The company has come a long way from “not possessing core technology to possessing first-class core technology”. Today this concept is deeply ingrained in the company’s top management.

In 2009 the company established a North America Development Center in Seattle in the U.S. It followed the establishment of its sales network which spanned the U.S., Australia, Russia, Southeast Asia and Brazil, and heralded the company’s internationalization effort. The company’s aim was to create an brand-new model involving “developed in the U.S. and made in China”.

The establishment of the North America Development Center did not merely enable Kaishan to obtain the latest industry movements at the first opportunity, but also offered a window for Kaishan to put one of the most important – if not the most important – businesses in the United States, a country that is reputed to have the most powerful innovative abilities and the greatest concentration of technical talents. It also enabled Kaishan to integrate top experts throughout the world and hence enhanced its research capability, thereby ensuring that Kaishan maintains world-leading technological level and research deliverables. At the same time, the internationalization of sales and research also meant increasing significance in Kaishan’s strategy of globalization.

Kaishan’s North America Development Center is staffed with a batch of world-class experts in compressors, including world-renowned screw compressor expert Dr. Tang Yan, top centrifugal compressor expert Dr. Brasz and axial-flow compressor expert Mr. Biederman.

Dr. Tang Yan

Dr. Tang is one of few top screw compressor experts in the world. He is also a distinguished expert under China’s “Recruitment program of global experts”. T-, α- and Y-line models invented by him are applied in about 15% of the world’s screw compressors. He obtained his doctorate degree and subsequent appointment as researcher under the support of venerable screw compressor enterprise Houghton. Dr. Tang is currently a senior engineer in Carrier Air-conditioner under American conglomerate UTC. The T-model triple-rotor refrigerant compressor developed by him remains to-date to have achieved the highest efficiency anywhere in the world. He is vice president and chief engineer of Quincy Compressor of the U.S.

Mr. Biederman

Mr. Biederman was formerly an engineer and senior engineer in numerous departments of UTC, as well as former person-in-charge of ORC project. He was also formerly senior engineer in GE New Energy and recyclable energy project, and an expert in axial-flow compressor.

Research & development team

Dr. Fan Zengzh

He was formerly technical director of Bizer’s Beijing company. He is a renowned expert in refrigeration and air-conditioner systems as well as a member of the “Recruitment program of global experts”. Dr. Tang Yan’s compressor technology perfectly complements the system integration technology of Dr. Fan Zengzhi, which enables Kaishan to obtain enormous technological advantages in the refrigeration industry.

Mr. Jiang Xiaohua

He is the person-in-charge of air centrifugal compressor project and also a long-term technical person-in-charge in foreign compressor companies.

Zhu Jianguo, senior enginee

He has been devoted to design of air compressor systems for more than 20 years, and developed full series of diesel-powered air compressor products.

Mr. Hui Dengfeng

Under Dr. Tang’s careful grooming, Mr. Hui has rapidly developed impeccable skills and experience in compressors. He is currently responsibrtle for screw air compressors, screw gas compressors and gas expander projects.

Mr. Tian Bingbing

He is an experienced designer of gas compressor system and also the technical person-in-charge of Kaishan’s gas compressor business department

“Absolute leadership” from comparative competitive advantages

What is the difference between 99 degrees and 100 degrees? On the surface the difference is only one degree, but in reality it is the difference between warm water and boiling water. Apply this principle to an enterprise and it is the difference between being good or outstanding. Through extraordinary focus and investments over a prolonged period of time in research and development, Kaishan does not simply possess an excellent technical power and it is able to launch a series of highly efficient and reliable products with low-noise, whose performance indicators all greatly exceed those of other similar-class products made both locally and internationally. Possession of absolute advantages in technology and products has enabled Kaishan to attain “differentiation competitive advantage” so emphatically espoused in Michael Porter’s theory on competitive strategies.

Today, Kaishan is the only company in the world that is capable of achieving Class One energy-efficiency for its full range of screw air compressors. Moreover, it is Asia’s largest and the world’s third-largest manufacturer of screw compressor. In addition, Kaishan has the capacity to recover low-grade energy and thus achieve high-efficient and gradient use of energy. Kaishan Compressor Co., Ltd has come a long way of being an outright manufacturer of compressors and is today a global leading enterprise capable of producing new energy power stations and supplying energy-efficient products and solutions.

源自北美的研发能力

R&D Capability From
North America

掌握一流核心技术 锻造“竞争优势”

没有核心技术就无法具备核心竞争力,这是开山在近60年的企业发展史、超过40年的空压机制造史中得出的最大体会之一。因此,我们每年都投入巨额专项研发经费,用于技术创新、人才引进和培养。在“从不掌握核心技术到掌握核心技术,再到掌握一流核心技术”的过程中,对研发的重视早已深入开山的骨髓。

2009年,继先后在美国、澳大利亚、俄罗斯、东南亚、巴西等国家和地区设立销售网点之后,开山在美国西雅图成立北美研发中心,正式迈出研发国际化的步伐,从而形成了“北美研发,中国制造”的全新模式。

北美研发中心的成立,不仅成为开山第一时间获取行业最新动态的窗口,而且通过将开山最重要的一部分业务放在全球创新能力最强、技术人才最集中的美国展开,也便于开山整合全世界同领域的顶级专家,提升研发能力,确保了开山业内全球领先的技术水平和研发成果。同时,销售和研发的双重国际化也预示着开山的“全球化”战略正逐步走向深入。

目前,开山北美研发中心云集了一批世界顶级的压缩机专家,包括世界知名螺杆压缩机专家汤炎博士、全球顶尖的离心压缩机专家Brasz博士和轴流压缩机专家Biederman先生等。

汤炎博士

全球为数不多最顶尖的螺杆压缩机专家之一。中国“千人计划”特聘专家、发明的T、α、Y型线应用于约世界年产量15%的螺杆压缩机产品。在全球历史最悠久的螺杆压缩机企业豪顿公司支助下获得博士学位并任研究员;美国UTC开利空调公司高级主任工程师,所开发的T型线三转子冷媒压缩机至今仍保持全球效率最高的记录;美国昆西压缩机公司副总裁、总工程师。

Biederman先生

前UTC多个部门的工程师、高级工程师、ORC项目负责人。前GE新能源可再生能源项目高级工程师,轴流压缩机专家。

研发团队

苑增之博士

原德国比泽尔(Bizer)北京公司技术总监,著名的冷冻系统、空调系统专家、“千人计划”成员。汤炎博士的压缩机技术与苑增之博士的系统集成技术珠联璧合,将使得开山股份的制冷产业获得巨大的技术优势。

江晓华硕士

空气离心压缩机项负责人,曾长期在境外压缩机目公司担任技术负责人。

朱建国高级工程师

20余年始终致力于空气压缩机系统设计,开发出全系列柴油动力空气压缩机产品。

惠登峰硕士

在汤炎博士悉心培养下迅速成长为经验丰富的压缩机研发专家,负责螺杆空气压缩机、螺杆气体压缩机和气体膨胀机项目。

田兵兵硕士

经验丰富的气体压缩机系统设计师,是开山气体压缩机事业部的技术负责人。

"领先"带来差异化竞争优势

99度和100度有什么区别?表面上是1度之差,实质上是温水和开水的区别;对企业而言,就是优秀与卓越的区别。经过多年对研发超乎寻常的专注和投入,开山不仅拥有了卓越的技术实力,还向用户推出了一系列高能效、高可靠性、低噪声的产品,其主要性能指标均大大领先于国内外其他同类产品——在技术和产品方面的领先,也让开山获得了迈克尔o波特竞争战略理论中强调的“差异化竞争优势”。

目前,开山已成为全球能将全型号螺杆空压机做到一级能效的企业,并且是中国机械工业百强企业。不仅如此,开山还能将低品位能源进行回收,实现了对能源的高效和梯度利用。今天的开山压缩机股份有限公司已经不再是一家单纯的压缩机制造公司,已经转型为一家生产新能源发电站和提供节能产品及解决方案的全球领先企业。